Bert Nash Profile: Recheal Le, Community Based Services case manager

Emily Farley News & Notes

Describe your role at Bert Nash:

My role at Bert Nash has evolved over the time that I have been here. Primarily, I am a waiver facilitator and (in a nut-shell) I help develop and maintain plans of care for clients on the SED (Serious Emotional Disturbance) waiver. That includes collaborating with families, treatment teams, MCOs (Managed Care Organizations), and community partners to identify goals and needed supports. However, my first position with Bert Nash was providing attendant care/respite for clients in the community. I have also dabbled in working with psychosocial groups, CPST (Community Psychiatric Support and Treatment), and am able to continue working with groups when I get the chance. A relatively new role for me has been acting as PRTF (Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities) liaison. But, in general, I try to help out wherever is needed. 

What attracted you to this position?

Initially, I came to Bert Nash because of the opportunities to work with children in the community and in group. As I started to prepare for graduation from KU, the waiver facilitator/case management position became open. I knew I wanted to continue to work with children and families. A big attraction was the flexibility in job responsibilities to work with families in different ways, which was and continues to be an amazing learning experience.

What do you find most rewarding about this line of work?

In this line of work, the most rewarding aspect for me is interacting with the kids; children have such interesting and diverse perspectives, on everything. I think we all tend to see a part of ourselves in these kids that are having difficulties, at least I do, and working with them has helped me work on myself, in ways that I never had in the past.

What have been the highlights for you during your time at Bert Nash?

Huge highlight at Bert Nash: summer group and cupcake wars — always interesting, always really stimulating.

Personally, what made me feel good was having one of my very first clients (from my position as an attendant care/respite provider) recognize me and want to give me an update about his life after about year and half after his graduation from the waiver.

What do you like to do outside of work?

I enjoy being with friends, walking around or just hanging out, and cycling through an array of hobbies. Things that I have, and sometimes re-visit, are keeping plants, an aquarium, painting, drawing, coloring, watching movies, learning the basics of playing an instrument or of a language, and baking.