Pioneer Celebration

The Pioneer Celebration is our annual event where we take the time to celebrate and recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the Center and Douglas County. The Pioneer winners are individuals who continue to carry on the legacy and the spirit of the first pioneers who founded the Bert Nash Mental Health Clinic in 1950.

Pioneer Award

The Pioneer Award will be given to an individual(s) in Douglas County whose efforts and achievements to secure accessible comprehensive community mental health services for all residents of Douglas County are exceptional and typify the progressive, caring spirit which led to the founding of the Bert Nash Community Mental Health Center. Below are the past recipients of the Pioneer Award.
  • 2016: Bill Beedles
  • 2015: Douglas County Law Enforcement Agencies
  • 2014: Shirley Martin-Smith & Tersea Treanor
  • 2013: Heartland Community Health Center
  • 2012: Paul Taylor
  • 2011: County Commissioners Thellman, Gaughan, Flory & County Administrator Craig Weinaug
  • 2010: Mental Health in Douglas County in the 20th Century. Honoring the Nash family, the Menninger family and the Shaw / Witt family.
  • 2009: Barbara Huppee & Pam Weigand
  • 2008: Randy Weseman
  • 2007: Former Kansas Governor Mike Hayden
  • 2006: Dr. Max Graves
  • 2005: O. Maurice & Betsy Joy
  • 2004: Dolph Simons, Jr.
  • 2003: Sandra J Shaw, Ph.D.
  • 2002: Rick Trapp & Frank Shontz
  • 2001: Lynwood Smith, M.D.
  • 2000: Judge Jean F. Shepherd
  • 1999: Michael Roberts, Ph.D.
  • 1998: Carolyn Schroeder, Ph.D.
  • 1997: Matthew N. Stein, M.D.
  • 1996: William Binns
  • 1995: Judge James W. (Bill) Paddock
  • 1994: Dr. George & Carole Pinches & Dr. Charles Rapp
  • 1993: Robert Oyler
  • 1992: Lawrence Community Chest; Lawrence Lions Club; and, Bill Simons
  • 1991: Jessie Branson & Lawrence Kiwanis Club
  • 1990: Howard & Virginia O’Connor; Charles & Tensie Oldfather & Henry D. Remple
  • 1989: Sam Adame; Arthur A. Heck; Betty Larson; Bettie-Lou Metsker; Judge Charles Rankin; Dr. James Stachowiak; & Margaret Wedge
  • 1988: Charles Banning; Alwilna Burris; Dr. James Campbell; John Crown; Bernece Glass; Dr. Phillip A. & Phoebe Godwin; D. M. Harris; Jack Harris; Roseann Hurwitz; Dr. Ted Kennedy; Evadne Laptad; Ethel Lynn; Bill Mayer; Jesse Milan; Russ Mosser; Elmer W. Ousdahl; & John Weatherwax
  • 1987: Richard Allen; Louise Cook; Donald Hults; Steve Jones; Dr. George Learned; Deane Malott; P. Everett Sperry; & Dr. M. Erik Wright
  • 1986: William J. Brink; Mrs. Juliett Clapp; Judge Frank Gray; Dr. Sigmund Gundle; Dr. M. J. Horowitz; Mrs. Ogden Jones; Miss Electa Kindlesperger; Dr. Carl Knox; Dr. J. M. Mott; Dr. Bert & Ruth Nash; Dr. W. O. Nelson; Myrl Penny; Mrs. Henry Shenk; Dr. Henry P. Smith; Mrs. Frank T. Stockton; Charles D. Stough; Rev. Dale Turner; Miss Esther Twente; Mrs. Mildred Watson; Marcella Wolfson; & Dr. Parke Woodard

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is presented to individuals whose extraordinary donations of time and talent have contributed significantly to the Bert Nash Center’s achievement of its mission. Below are the past recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award.

    • 2001: Carole Pinches, Barbara Watkins
    • 1997: Henry D. Remple, Ph.D.
    • 1996: Marcella Wolfson

Lyn Smith Award for Distinguished Services

The Lyn Smith Award is to formally distinguish and honor those individuals who service to the community has been exceptional in the capacity of Governing Board Director or Endowment Board of Trustee of the Bert Nash Community Mental Health Center, Inc. Below are the past recipients of the Lyn Smith Award.

      • 2016: Doug Stephens & Mike Treanor
      • 2014: David Ambler
      • 2010: Erv Hodges & Jean Milstead
      • 2009: Mike McGrew
      • 2008: Dave Adams
      • 2005: Marilyn Bittenbender
      • 2002: Shirley Martin-Smith
      • 2004: Donna Swall

The Sandra Shaw Spirit Award

The Sandra Shaw Spirit award is the Bert Nash version of the “Employee of the Year.” The nominee(s) must be a program, support, or administration staff member who has been employed with the Center for at least two years and must have made significant contributions to the Center. Below are the past recipients of the Sandra Shaw Spirit Award.

      • 2017: Anita Anderson
      • 2016 Paul Williams
      • 2015 Ganis Himes
      • 2014 Connie Snow & Sharon Zehr
      • 2013 Linda Davis
      • 2012 Stephanie Shelley & Joe Harris
      • 2011 Toots Schultz
      • 2010 Cynthia Waters
      • 2009 Julie Nelson
      • 2008 Rhonda Stubbs
      • 2007 Beth Ankerholz
      • 2006 Grant Clowers
      • 2005 Yemen Shaaban
      • 2004 Ty Yoshida & Maria Ilardi
      • 2003 Heather Jones
      • 2002 Margie Miller & Linda Lash
      • 2001 Sara Reese
      • 2000 Marsha Smith
      • 1999 Anita Flewelling
      • 1998 Doug Witt
      • 1997 Jean Dirks
      • 1996 Lequetta Diggs
      • 1995 Joyce Halderman
      • 1994 Tom Locke
      • 1993 Jose Cornejo
      • 1992 Virginia Vickers